NASA Suomi-NPP Land Science Team

The VIIRS Land products are being developed and evaluated jointly by NASA and NOAA scientists through the NASA Suomi-NPP Science Team and the NOAA Joint Polar Satellite System (JPSS) Product Algorithm Development and Calibration/Validation teams.

These joint teams also monitor several upstream products that impact land product quality, including the Sensor Data Records (SDRs), geolocation and gridding, as well as aerosol optical thickness and cloud mask over land.

Chris Justice (Team Lead)

Agricultural Monitoring Applications of VIIRS Data and the Land Discipline Lead

Miguel Román (Team Lead)

NASA’s Black Marble Product Suite: Algorithm Refinement Efforts

Eric Vermote

Development of the VIIRS Climate Quality Surface Reflectance Product Suite

Ranga Myneni

Global LAI-FPAR Earth System Data Records from Suomi VIIRS to Extend the EOS MODIS Time Series

George Riggs

Development of S-NPP Cryospheric EDRs to Extend the EOS Data Record for Earth System Science

Simon Hook

In Flight Validation of VIIRS Mid and Thermal Infrared Data and Products for Earth Science

Glynn Hulley

A Unified VIIRS Land Surface Temperature and Emissivity (LST&E) Product for Earth Science Research and MODIS Continuity

Crystal Schaaf

Suomi NPP VIIRS BRDF/Albedo/NBAR Products to Extend the Long Term Consistent MODIS Standard Data Record

Alexei Lyapustin

Generation of Advanced VIIRS Land-Atmosphere Product Suite with Algorithm MAIAC

Kamel Didan

Vegetation Indices from the Suomi NPP VIIRS Sensor: Extending the EOS-MODIS VI Science Algorithm and Experience

Louis Giglio

Development of a Suomi NPP VIIRS Global Burned Area Earth System Data Record

Wilfrid Schroeder

S-NPP/VIIRS Active Fire Algorithm and Data Record Development and Refinement

Jeffrey Czapla-Myers

Support for the Calibration and Validation of Suomi NPP VIIRS

Xiaoyang Zhang

Development and Validation of a Global Land Surface Phenology Product from NPP VIIRS for EOS-MODIS Continuity

University of Maryland






Boston University








University of Massachusetts Boston




University of Arizona


University of Maryland


University of Maryland


University of Arizona


South Dakota State University